Organizing Coupons on a Budget

Published March 9, 2012 by gweledydd

I made a post a while back about the different types of coupon organizing systems, and now I want to share how you can create your own binder on a budget.  If you have looked at my page, you have seen my personal binder.  I was lucky in that I used to play guitar and have three or four binders full of guitar tabs.  I was able to consolidate and took my best zipper binder out of the bunch to make my coupon binder.  I only had to pay for the plastic organizer sheets, which retail at Walmart for less than $5.00.

 

So how can you make your own coupon organizer if you are on a budget?

 

One of the ways I suggest you do this is to take advantage of Walmart’s overage policy.  Earlier this week I posted a deal to get Renu contact solution free at Target.  Well, it is also free at Walmart AND you can get $0.50 of overage using the coupon.  This may not seem like much, but it does begin to add up.  By coupling your free deal with products that may not have coupons like binders or plastic organizers, you can save tons of money on setting up your organizing system.  My first coupon organizer was a simple plastic accordion folder, which retails at Walmart for about $3.97.  If you get 8 of the Renu and use 8 coupons, then the accordion folder is completely free!

 

CVS is also a great place to get binders.  Binders are usually not a sale item, so you can wait around until they have a 20% or 30% off coupon.  Let’s say CVS has a zipper binder for $19.99 and you have a 30% off coupon that makes it $14.00.  Usually when these coupons come out for % off, CVS will still have plenty of gift card deals.  Couple this with a gift card you get back from your couponing finds, and you could pay $4.00 OOP for your binder!

 

Take advantage of back-to-school sales and dollar store bargain finds.  If you don’t care whether you have a new or used binder, there are used binders for sale on many sites.

 

There are also plenty of things you can do at home to make your own organization system.  Whether it’s recycling boxes to make a storage bin or using an old scrap book or string to bind together pages, making your own organization system is up to y0u and the options are limitless.  Whatever your method, be prepared to pay a little out of pocket to get your dream system.  Don’t think of it as a waste of money; think of it as an investment.  The more organized you are, the more likely you are to continue using coupons.  The small investment you make in your organization system will pay off quickly once you start saving 70 – 80% on your grocery bills.

2 comments on “Organizing Coupons on a Budget

  • Thank you. I found a zipper binder on amazon for $12 which is a lot better than the walmart/target prices. I know binders in general are costly but organization will save more time and money. I have “re purposed” in the past to save money using all my saved binders from school or music classes now that I am in college, which saved me a lot of money. I know this coupon binder will still save me a lot more and is much cheaper than a “put together system”.

    • Yes I personally don’t think there is any reason anyone should pay $40 – $50 for a put together system when it is much easier to make one yourself. Plus, if you make it yourself, you can control how you organize everything and find your own method that makes the most sense for you.

  • Leave a Reply

