Is Couponing Worth It?

Published March 18, 2012 by gweledydd

Many people ask me if couponing is worth it.  Is all the time spent searching the internet for deals and clipping coupons worth the few savings you receive every month?

 

I am here to tell you that it absolutely IS WORTH IT.

 

I have been reading KCL’sPick Another Checkout Lane, Honey, and there are great points in the book about how you can use coupons as an organization tool to help you save money on everything from groceries to buying a house.  I took some of the principles in the book and made a spreadsheet this week to help keep track of our savings.  The spreadsheet consists of three pages: our monthly budget, my couponing trips, and my coupon savings per month.  This spreadsheet would work best if I had a before-coupon total to compare it with.  I am planning on going back through my bank statements eventually to compare, but having this visual still helps tremendously.  This week my husband and I were able to figure out areas in which we can cut back to start paying more towards his car.

 

I wanted to make this spreadsheet available to others in case it can help you as well.  You’d be surprised how much money you are actually spending if you keep track of your weekly expenditures and monthly payments!

 

Budget Planner

2 comments on “Is Couponing Worth It?

Leave a Reply

